h1

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

April 30, 2010

I’m on a quest to find my favorite oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. They are in my favorite cookie, and I’ve made at least a dozen different recipes, but I’ve yet to find the recipe, the one that will end my search.

One of my co-workers, Sarah, brought this recipe of oatmeal chocolate chip cookies into the office this week, and had baked them that very morning. They…were…delicious.

Well I just had to make them myself, of course, and she was gracious and gave me the recipe. The (brief) history is that her sister used the supposed Mrs. Fields recipe, modified it slightly, and has been making these cookies for years ever since.

Here’s the thing: my version was not as good. But I think I know the culprit. The recipe that I’ve listed below calls for quick-cooking oats. I used old fashioned rolled oats instead and I wouldn’t recommend that you do the same. The quick cooking oats make these cookies softer and more tender, and bring the flavor of the oats out for a softer but nuttier tasting cookie.

Mine were good, but Sarah’s were great.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted by co-worker Sarah’s sister from Mrs. Fields

1 c. brown sugar
1 c. granulated white sugar
1 c. butter
2 large eggs
1 t. vanilla extract
2.5 c. all purpose flour
1/2 t. salt
1 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
2.5 c. quick-cooking oats
1 c. chopped nuts
1 c. chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 400°
  • Cream together sugars and butter until light and creamy
  • Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition, then add the vanilla
  • In a bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder, then add to the wet ingredients and mix to combine.
  • Stir in the oats to combine, then add chocolate chips and nuts.

Drop in large tablespoons onto cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned on the edges but still soft and light on top. Don’t overbake these cookies or they will toughen up considerably.

Cool on a wire rack and serve, preferably with milk. Cookies deserve milk.

7 comments

  1. yum…this recipe combines two of my favourite types of cookies: chocolate chip cookies, and oatmeal cookies! if you’re ever in need of some more recipes,i’d love to hear what you think of my posts at http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com !
    thanks


    • Thanks! I’ll check out your blog. Love that you found me!


  2. Pumpkin Pie Spice. A generous t-spoon– added to any oatmeal cookie recipe you make. It WILL make all the difference. I kid you not.


    • I do love me some pumpkin pie spice. And I use it when I don’t put chocolate chips in the cookies. If I use raisins, there’s always pumpkin pie spice. So yummy.


  3. those look really delicious :)


    • Thank you! How’d you find me!?


    • Oh, and please, make them and tell me how they turn out!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

